Edit Module Edit Module
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Pin It

Serene Retreat

A new Southside home combines modern amenities with the classic architecture that cues the neighborhood’s historic charm.

  

Architect Gary Justiss may live in Chelsea, Alabama, but he’s more likely to be found on Florida’s Highway 30A. While the beach crowd keeps him busy with second home designs along the coast, he embraced the opportunity to design a Birmingham home for clients Anne and Henry Strickland. Seeking a livable home that evoked character but offered modern amenities, the couple opted to build in Highland Crescent, a small lot line, new-home neighborhood in Southside. 

Cueing the historic homes nearby, Gary designed a house just large enough for entertaining yet small enough for two people to live comfortably. The master suite offers views of Caldwell Park, while the adjoining bath recalls an old-fashioned sleeping porch with its bay of windows and horizontal wood siding. The end result gave the Stricklands all the traditional charm they asked for—rusty, leaky pipes not included. 

WHY WE LOVE IT

1. Historic Charm - Nodding to old-fashioned sleeping porches, Gary designed a bank of windows above the chair rail behind the tub. The freestanding Victoria + Albert tub, framed by an arched opening, recalls early 19th-century character.

2. Glamorous Reflections - Contemporary and traditional light fixtures add shimmer against silvery gray walls. Mirror-framed mirrors, glass sinks, and chrome fixtures add even more shine.

3. Modern + Classic - The bedroom and bath showcase both traditional and contemporary items. A soothing color palette and restrained use of pattern keep the look clean and fresh.

4. Thoughtful Details - Details on the built-in cabinets, in addition to hand-carved legs on the vanity, give the look of custom-made furniture. A mix of metal and crystal hardware from Brandino Brass adds interest.

5. Custom Mix - Pairing a custom-designed upholstered headboard with side tables, chandeliers, and mirrors from Restoration Hardware lends individuality to store-bought pieces. 

RESOURCES
Architect: Gary Justiss garyjustiss.com Interiors: Anne Strickland Contractor: Jake Schillaci / Shield Properties • 205.563.0335 Bathroom: countertops: Alabama Marble from Triton Stone tritonstone.com • 205.592.0202 countertop fabrication: Premier Surfaces premiersurfaces.com • 205.664.1440 vanity: Bud’s Cabinets  256.249.3716 fixtures (sinks, bath): Ferguson ferguson.com • 205.254.3454 mirrors and sconces: Restoration Hardware restorationhardware.com floor tile: Emser Tile emser.com • 205.945.1500 crystal light fixtures: Dale Tiffany Collection from lighting New York lightingnewyork.com hardware: Brandino Brass brandinobrass.com • 205.978.8900 Bedroom: headboard: Robert Allen fabric from King Cotton kingcottonfabrics.com • 205.322.5878 accent pillows: Z Gallerie zgallerie.com bedskirt: Bella Notte Linens bellanottelinens.com Rug: West Elm westelm.com

Add your comment: