Edit Module Edit Module

Bring on the Drama

New construction and a laid-back homeowner allow designer Laurie Fulkerson carte blanche in creating this upstairs master bath.

One glance into this new master bathroom and you can’t help but notice the floor. “It’s rather dramatic,” says designer Laurie Fulkerson of Twin Interiors of the chevron-patterned tile. “It was our starting point for the whole space.”

Laurie’s goal was to create a relaxing and calm retreat with classic style and a little edge. “The homeowners lead hectic lives with work and small children,” says Laurie. “They needed a place to escape.” The galley-shaped bath and it’s linear layout offered a stretch of space to situate convenient his-and-her vanities on either side of a soaking tub—just right for daily life and taking a break. 

  

Why we Love it

1. DRAMATIC FLOOR Laurie wanted to bring something unexpected into the mostly traditional space. She decided to start with the chevron tile floor and then build the room around it. The strié of the dark and light colors create a unique pattern underfoot and perfectly complement  the rest of the room’s clean lines. 

2. "TELEPHONE" SHOWERHEAD The polished nickel shower fixture not only looks beautiful, it also offers the benefits of a shower without the need for a glass enclosure or curtain. The couple also uses it to bathe their young children.

3. UNIQUE LOCATION The homeowners wanted the master suite to be located on the second floor, a unique request in today’s home market. “The parents wanted to be near their small children for convenience,” says Laurie. They did include a downstairs guest suite as well in order to easily accommodate aging parents.

RESOURCES
Designer: Laurie Fulkerson/Twin Interiors • 205.802.3920 twincompanies.com Architect: Joe Ellis/Dwelling Architecture • 205.790.1389 dwellingarchitecture.com Builder: Twin Construction • 205.802.3920 twincompanies.com Cabinets: Twin countertops: Mystery White Marble from Surface One • 205.621.1125 surface1.com Sinks & fixtures: Brizo Virage from Ferguson • 205.254.3454 ferguson.com Master tub: Vintage Tub & Bath • 877.868.1369 vintagetub.com Shower tile: gloss tile from Triton Stone Group • 205.592.0202 tritonstone.com Floors: Venatto Marble laid in herringbone from Triton Stone Group Hardware: Brandino Brass • 205.978.8900 brandinobrass.com Lighting: Visual Comfort • 713.686.5999 visualcomfort.com Paint color: White Dove by Benjamin Moore benjaminmoore.com