Edit Module Edit Module
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Pin It

Glamorous Reflections

Designers Cyndy Cantley and Mark Kennamer team up to turn an outdated master bedroom and bath into a lavish retreat.

When Tracey Anderson called upon kitchen and bath expert Cyndy Cantley and interior designer Mark Kennamer to renovate her master suite, she had one request. “She didn’t want to change the size of either space,” says Cyndy. “The master bath is not a large room, but she really wanted to work with the square footage that was already there so she didn’t have to carve any space away from the neighboring bedroom.” With these parameters in mind, Cyndy and Mark set about creating an elegant yet functional suite that made use of every inch. “Cyndy, Mark, and I collaborated to create an elegant, soothing retreat, at the same time giving this section of the house a much-needed update,” Tracey says.

  

ABOVE Even with space at a minimum, Cyndy found plenty of places to create hidden storage and keep the vanity uncluttered.
 

Why we love it

1. WALL OF MIRRORS Every dressing area needs a mirror, and this one has its fair share. Mirrored closet doors span an entire wall to help make the intimate space feel a bit roomier.

2. PLAYFUL PATTERN What the bath lacks in space, it more than makes up for in style with an abundance of bold-patterned wallpaper. The brown-leaf motif blends well with the natural hues of the wicker storage baskets and bamboo shade.

3. CLEVER STORAGE Instead of installing medicine cabinets, Cyndy opted for storage niches next to the vanity. Wicker baskets fit snuggly into each niche, keeping towels and toiletries out of sight. A vanity in the dressing area offers plenty of drawers to keep makeup and jewelry organized. Tall, slender side cabinets flank the vanity for more space-saving storage.

4. POWDER PUFF Nothing amps up the coziness factor like accessories full of fluff. Here, the softness of the bedroom rug is carried over onto the vanity stool in the dressing area.

  

RESOURCES
Designer: Cyndy Cantley/Cantley & Company • 205.324.2400 cantleyandcompany.com Interior designer: Mark Kennamer/Mark Kennamer Design • 205.413.6976 markkennamerdesign.com Builder: Cleve Shearer/Shearer Building Company • 205.229.1104 shearerbuilding.com Countertop fabrication: Honed Imperial Danby from Birmingham Marbleworks • 205.988.5585 Countertops: Calacatta Gold from Triton Stone Group • 205.592.0202 tritonstone.com Cabinets and crystal knobs: Cantley & Company Floor tile: Honed Herringbone Calcutta Marble by Fixtures & Finishes, LLC • 205.323.5616 fixturesandfinishes.com Tub/shower tile: Fleece by Wizard Enterprise • 323.756.8430 wizardenterprise.com All fixtures: Fixtures & Finishes Plumbing fixtures: Jacobean Series in Nickle finish by Newport Brass • 949.417.5207 newportbrass.com Sconces: Camilla Sconce by Suzanne Kasler: Circa Lighting circalighting.com Chandelier: Sonoma Home williams-sonoma.com Custom shower curtain: Western Drapery • 205.870.3060 windowtreatmentbirminghamal.com Matchstick blind: Skandia Melhanna skandiawf.com Vanity stool: West Elm westelm.com Wallpaper: Odhni Gold from Designers Guild designersguild.com Paint color: Swiss Coffee by Benjamin Moore benjaminmoore.com

Add your comment: